Monday at Book Week

Kirkcudbright Book Week runs between Monday February 27-Saturday March 4, 2023, and here’s a reminder of the programme for Monday.

Tickets for both paid-for and a number of the free events during Kirkcudbright Book Week 2023 can be booked by visiting and searching for Kirkcudbright Book Week Collection where all the events are listed. Alternatively, a direct link can be accessed via the book week website’s Acquire Your Tickets section  at

Monday February 27 Screening of ‘S.R.Crockett: The Kirkcudbright Connection’ (20 minutes) followed by virtual chat/ Q&A with Cally Phillips, pictured here, of Galloway Raiders.

The Kirkcudbright Galleries, St Mary Street 11am£5

S.R.Crockett (1859-1914) is the most famous and prolific novelist of Galloway. His stories range across the region, but his Kirkcudbright connection is little known. The short film explores Crockett’s relationship with the town and some of her more famous sons, including E.A.Hornel and William Mouncey. William Stewart MacGeorge was a boyhood friend and the central character in Crockett’s sole Kirkcudbright novel is based on him. Published in 1907, Little Esson features fictionalised romance and mystery among the Kirkcudbright Artists. Crockett’s Kirkcudbright connection is explored through rare Galloway Raiders archival material and other stories. Cally will be available ‘virtually’ after the screening to chat more and answer questions regarding Crockett’s Kirkcudbright Connections.

Monday February 27 Walk on the Dark Side – crime fiction event Broughton House, 12 High St. 7. 30pm £7

Spend an evening with crime writers Jackie Baldwin, Ian Robinson, pictured here, Ann Bloxwich and John Dean as they explore the art of crime writing, illustrated through examples from their crime novels.

Having spent twenty-seven years in the Metropolitan Police, Ian is now a full-time writer. Six of his crime novels have been published and Rubicon is currently in development with the BBC for a six-part TV series.

Jackie Baldwin sets much of her work in Dumfries and Galloway and was a solicitor in Dumfries for twenty years.  Her debut crime novel, Dead Man’s Prayer, was published by Killer Reads, Harper Collins in 2016. The second in the series, Perfect Dead, was published in 2018 with the third, Avenge the Dead, having also been published.

Ann Bloxwich is a lifelong fan of crime fiction who started writing after attending her first crime writing festival in Harrogate. She recently announced that she had signed a deal with a new publisher, Red Dragon Publishing Ltd. Her debut novel What Goes Around is being re-issued and she has a new book coming out, Goodnight, God Bless

John Dean is the creator of the DCI John Blizzard and Jack Harris series of novels published by The Book Folks of London.

Published by johndean1

I am a UK-based journalist and author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: